Saturday, October 21, 2017

UAM Hoops Picked #1

RUSSELLVILLE, Ark. — The University of Arkansas at Monticello men's basketball team was selected first overall in the Great American Conference Preseason poll, as was released by the conference on Thursday.

Arkansas-Monticello enters the new year after finishing with a 23-7 (17-5 GAC) record during the 2016-17 season, while breaking various records and milestones along the way to a NCAA Central Region Tournament appearance, where the Weevils fell to the 2016 champions, Augustana 76-69 in Maryville, Missouri.

During the 2016-17 season UAM set various Arkansas-Monticello men's basketball records which included consecutive wins (15), best start in school history (14-0), highest winning percentage in school history (.767), most conference wins in school history (17), most total assists in a season (497), most assists per game in a season (16.8), and were the GAC Regular Season Champions as well.

UAM will see nine total players returning to the 2017-18 squad, which includes four starters from last season in seniors Derylton Hill, Cobe Goosby, Tyrin Jones, and Karim Mawuenyega. Fellow seniors Stephon Gordon, Tayte Kitts, and Troy Thomas will be back for the Weevils, and sophomores Brandon England, and Hunter Daley return as well.

Arkansas-Monticello will welcome four newcomers to the program this season with senior Tedrian Brisco, and juniors Jamil Maddred, Keelin Jackson, and Jarred Heard rounding out the remainder of the roster for the upcoming year.

The Weevils will open up the 2017-18 campaign on Friday, November 3 in an exhibition match-up with Oklahoma State University in Stillwater, Oklahoma. UAM will then face Concordia University-St. Paul in the Arkansas Tech Tournament in what will be the first official contest of the new season on Friday, November 10 in Russellville, Arkansas.

Following Arkansas-Monticello, who received 11 total first place votes, at the number one spot was Arkansas Tech (1), East Central, Southern Nazarene, Harding, Henderson State, Southern Arkansas, Ouachita Baptist, Southwestern Oklahoma State, Southeastern Oklahoma State, Northwestern Oklahoma State, and Oklahoma Baptist.

No comments:

Post a Comment